Brother Ali – Real As Can Be

As if the Jo & Eligh release wasn’t enough today. Brother Ali released his The Truth Is Here EP. I’ve been giving it constant spins the past 2 weeks and I don’t see me stopping anytime soon. I dropped a trailer for the accompanying DVD yesterday and wanted to hold off on posting any tracks. But I honestly believe if I let ya’ll atleast hear the intro joint, it might entice some of youse to hit up FifthElement* and purchase a copy. I can’t stress it enough, Brother Ali is one of the dopest emcees on the planet. Period. Two incredible EPs and two classic albums. Yes… I said classic and stand behind that! Oh and I can’t make the post with out congratulating the man on the baby daughter!

DOWNLOAD: Brother Ali – Real As Can Be | Mediafire

*If you happen to be in the area, you should hit the actual store and check out the in-store performance he’s putting on at 6pm. Free, all ages, etc. Get your EP signed, some stickers and an exclusive fold-out poster.

~ by Shake on March 10, 2009.

16 Responses to “Brother Ali – Real As Can Be”

  1. MPLS we go hard!

  2. Yes we do Jon Jon

  3. bottom line: this cat never…NEVER disappoints.

  4. I agree and with Ant on production you can’t go wrong.

    Picked up my copy. Didn’t listen to the whole thing yet.

  5. damn.

  6. Coolest thing about Ali is that he’s a real cool cat from everything I’ve seen. He just seems like an extremely real person and it makes his music that much more enjoyable. This EP just further cements his spot in my list of greatest emcees in the game.

  7. shake i couldnt agree with u more man. i dig every track this dude puts out, u can hear his soul on every verse he spits. i was thinkin yesterday that his verse on jake one’s the truth should be up for verse of the year. and him and ant are a rediculous combo, they get it right everytime

    anyway dude you just made my day. didn’t even know that this EP was comin until now. definitley coppin it

  8. 612 is better than you.

    congrats to brother ali, ant and rhymesayers on this one – real dope ep right here

    minnesota be killing it right now….

  9. Fucking FLAMESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSs

  10. Im not gonna lie this dude right here is fire. Every track is hot. He is so lyrical.
    I gotta ask though, is anyone listening to the lyrics? Am I the only one who thinks this dude is a little confused? I mean first dude is white, and hates white people. Dude claims he was raised by the hood and doesnt relate to his own people. He claims he muslim, now i agree religion is race free, but lets be honest.

    I dont know maybe im weird and I aint hearing his message.

  11. […] A few weeks ago, I broke down the lyrics and attempted to analyze a live A Capella performance Brother Ali rocked off of The Truth Is Here EP.  The song for those that missed it, is a metaphor wrapped in a narrative, wrapped in commentary and delivered through verse.  Shake dropped a track titled “Real As Can Be” off of the latest EP for those that need a little incentive. […]

  12. “I gotta ask though, is anyone listening to the lyrics? Am I the only one who thinks this dude is a little confused? I mean first dude is white, and hates white people. Dude claims he was raised by the hood and doesnt relate to his own people. He claims he muslim, now i agree religion is race free, but lets be honest.”
    –SHH

    ^^ He’s Albino; and while yes his fam is “caucasian” he was made fun of throughout his childhood due to his genetic condition- so that may explain some negative feelings towards other whites– but he does not hate white ppl.
    He’s an honest and humble man, who’s very passionate about what he speaks/spits, and grateful for every compliment he gets and the support he receives.
    And let’s be honest about what? You said yourself, religion is race free (esp since race is a societal-created label.. Scientifically there is NO SUCH THING as race)… So let’s be honest about what? He’s muslim. The end. He found a religion that spoke to him, just like everyone else.

    Anyway- Ali is great, and only gets better with each album, and classic status is a fair assessment, no arguments here.

  13. So they ask me if I’m black or white, I’m neither
    Race is a made up thing I don’t believe in it
    My genes tie me to those that despised me
    Made a living killing the ones that inspired me
    I ain’t just talking about singing and dancing
    I was taught life and manhood by black men
    So I’m a product of that understanding
    And a small part of me feels like I am them
    Does that make me a liar maybe
    but I don’t want the white folks that praise me to think they can claim me

  14. @The Milk to your Shake

    Very well put. To have heard Brother Ali speak is to have seen what type of person he truly is. I’ve honestly never seen another artist be as honest and real about who they are than this man here. Those sort of qualities as a person make it very easy to be a fan of the qualities of his art.

  15. “youse”? Really? Educate yourself, you ignorant ass nigga.

    It also sounds like you couldn’t be more on Ali’s dick.

  16. That stanza just blew my mind

Leave a Reply

 
